About Us

The Treaty Council was created in 1974, shortly after the court decision in U.S. v. Washington (the Boldt decision), which upheld treaty-reserved fishing rights of western Washington treaty Indian tribes.

The Treaty Council has promoted the concept of co-management in its work with its member tribes, other treaty tribes and the State of Washington. The work incorporates coordinated harvest management, stock assessment and enhancement, and habitat preservation between jurisdictions to ensure the preservation of natural resources, thereby continuing successful implementation of tribal treaty rights.

The Treaty Council employs 10 professionals in harvest management, data management, habitat preservation and treaty rights protection, working together to provide comprehensive natural resources management and treaty rights preservation services to the member tribes. Treaty Council staff includes finfish, shellfish and wildlife managers, a habitat biologist, geographic information systems analyst and fisheries planner, plus an executive director, office manager, information technology manager and accountant.

The Treaty Council staff works with its member tribes’ natural resources programs to ensure that treaty rights are preserved and treaty fisheries are conducted in a coordinated, sustainable and biologically sound manner. A majority of the staff has worked for the Treaty Council for more than 10 years, with some more than thirty years. The Treaty Council’s primary directive is to assist the member tribes in exercising and protecting their treaty-reserved rights to fish and hunt.


The Treaty Council is governed by a Board of Directors, which is composed of two representatives from each member tribe. The Board is led by a chairman and vice-chairman, who are elected annually.

W. Ron Allen, Chairman
 Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe
Jeromy Sullivan, Chairman
Port Gamble S'Klallam Tribe   


Point No Point Treaty Council Constitution


Point No Point Treaty of 1855